• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

New need advice on Kickboxing/Boxing/Muay Thai/Krav Maga

Want to start martial arts for a number of reasons and wanted to ask advice from experts or people with experience in these arts.

Firstly I mainly want to start martial arts for the fitness, and secondly for the confidence and ability to be able to defend myself.

Muay Thai and Krav maga interest me the most, but I wanted to know what ppl think of combining any of these disciplines (seeing as im a beginner) and which ones would be the best for what I want out of a martial art?

Also I'd say I am generally fit at the moment and I damaged my left knee in the past. So with this in view although it is fine at the moment could I damage it in later life depending on which art I choose.

One more thing what is the difference between Kickboxing and Muay Thai?

thanks for any advice I get

• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
Perhaps you would get more advice if you posted this in the "Starting Martial Arts Forum" I have no expirence in these arts, but it is a generally a good idea to just start one art at a time and later start the second as you do not want to be overwhelmed. And as for choosing an art all I can suggestion is to check out some dojos in your area, speak with the instructer try a class and see which school you like best :) hope this helps a little

Goju Ryu Karate-do and Okinawan Kobudo, 17 Years Old 1st kyu Brown Belt in in Goju Ryu Karate-do, & Shodan in Okinawan Kobudo

Given enough time, any man may master the physical. With enough knowledge, any man may become wise. It is the true warrior who can master both....and surpass the result.

I AM CANADIAN

Muay thai is absolutely hardcore, thai boxers have an excellent mentality and are very tough physically and mentally due to the conditioning they do.