• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

Is Jake Mace reliable?

• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

There are martial artists who use youtube to good effect and there are youtubers who use martial arts to good effect.

I have no experience in chinese arts so I won't comment on his martial ability or his ability to teach. I will say I've watched a few videos and it's all avout liking and subscribing for ad revenue and buying his online course.

Wasn't it Jake Mace that started the horse stance challenge? I think that's a good thing, for a bit of endurance fun. Apart from that, he has so far not impressed me to be honest. But that's not to say he's bad in any way. He does what he does. He seems to enjoy it.

He seems like a kung fu/Chinese martial arts historian. I think the knock on him is that, he gives the impression that he has absolute mastery in ALL forms of kung fu styles. But to me, he seems like Bert Sugar of Kung Fu except he is avid about his fitness and living a healthy life style.

It begins with the knowledge that the severity of a strikes impact is amplified by a smaller surface area.

• 2 weeks later...

The only chinese art I've ever studied is Fu Jow Pai so I can not comment on whether he is a good source for CMA based on a few vids I watched. However I did find a Tiger "Kung Fu" vid and all I can say is I doubt he learned this from an actual Sifu. Maybe out of a book or a vid on youtube but you can tell its not a main art for him.

In watching a few of his videos (by the way a lot of Jake is fake vids out there) I tend to agree with RW.

Not saying that he doesn't have exposure to CMA's but the way he moves and the fact that he doesn't use traditional names for the techniques would lead me to believe that exposure was limited. Master he is not. At least for the vids (styles) I watched.

I didn't have time to view all of them so maybe there is one art(style) he is very proficient in.