• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

I've been doing Shotokan karate for a few months and I'm loving it!

I originally wanted to study Tae Kwon Do though, and only went for Shotokan because I couldn't find a TKD club near me. I've found a club now and would like to attend it, but I don't want to give up my karate.

I feel that I would like to wait a while before attending TKD too though, to make sure I've got a firm grasp of karate, yet I'm "biting at the bit" and don't know if I've got the patience to wait any longer!

Do you think TKD and karate are compatible though, or do you think that they're too similar to one another and will just get me confused as to which is which constantly?

Thanks in advance :)

Smile. It makes people wonder what you've been up to.

• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

I think you better wait, to be honest. I didn't study TSD and TKD at the same time (well ...... I do now, sort of), but they are similar. I got confused between the two arts. The kicks and such are the same, but the step sparring, forms, and sparring rules are all different. At first, I'd confuse or mix up the step sparring between the two arts. Then the forms. I did learn to seperate the two, but it took a while.

It's a lot harder for color belt ranks to do that, than it is for black belts who have a strong base in one art before switching to another. In my case, I had no choice.

Stick to Shotokan for now :)

Laurie F

Speaking from experience, Shotokan and TKD are a very good mix if you want to solidify the basics and expand on your kicks. I'd suggest at least another 6 months, preferably a year before signing up with TKD. That way you shouldn't have any problems mixing basics up.

Kyle-san took the words out of my mouth.

Its good you wait for some more time to have even more solid basics and then, if you have the time, money and energy, you can start to attend the TKD school,