• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

whats it called?

this is a little hard for me to word correctly so i'll try to describe the situation the best i can.

i kickbox and grapple. i just recently quit both. i still practice and spar alot though. with the knowledge i already have, im working on being a self taught shootfighter. im planning on adding my own special touch to it to basicly make it my own kinda style (it wont really be a style, just what works for me and whatever else i add to it.) so what is the correct name for shootfighting? i've heard people call it Vale Tudo and other things. i'd seem a little silly if someone asks what my style is based from and i told them i didn't know the name of it. :lol:

• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

Well, "shootfighting" is the correct term .... it is a hybrid sport which combines Muay Thai kickboxing and submission wrestling/Jujitsu.

Here's a little "history" behind the "name"

Shootfighting is a complete art in stand fighting and grappling. It is a little over 25 years old. A famous German wrestler taught the art of real wrestling, or "shooting", to a group of top Japanese martial artists. Two of these Japanese martial artists, Masami Soranaka, a practitioner of karate, judo and sumo, and Yoshiaki Fujiwara, a muay Thai kick boxing champion and judo expert, combined their knowledge of these diverse styles and created what has come to be known in Japan as UWF wrestling or the hard style. The sport's popularity has grown and is now the third most popular spectator sport in Japan behind baseball and sumo.

Bart Vale, who coined the term "shootfighting" to describe the style, combined the wrestling and Muay Thai techniques he learned in Japan with his experience in American karate and kick boxing to advance the sport even further.