• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

self taught?

when i refer to the word "self taught" i dont mean someone who rented a black belt video and considered themself a black belt after watching it. with that being said lets get down to business.

this i about the people who have done alot of practising using videos, books, and the internet. lets just say that they did everything in order and trained just like they would in a dojo. and after a couple of years went by they finally finished their black belt instructions.

Would you consider them a black belt?

Would you even consider them a martial artist?

• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • Replies 20
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

I bet if they sparred other martial artists a lot and they practiced hard I guess they could get good. Plus their sparring partners can tell them if they are doing a technique wrong and stuff..

It is only with the heart that one can see clearly, for the most essential things are invisible to the eye.

That person needs to prove what he/she learned in front of a qualifed serious intructors. I doubt you can teach yourself a Martial Art using just videos and books. They can help if you have a base style. but if you haven't, you may learn things incorrectly.

You CAN learn many things from books and videos but i don't feel that's enough to consider yourself a black belt or even an intermediate green belt.

You need to be carefull... I can pick up a book and read it again and again, memorized from A to Z and practice all the techniques but the book won't tell you what you are doing wrong or what you need to improve, For that you need a teacher.