• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

When to speak up

Must of us were brought up to say nothing if we didn't have something good to say. As a martial artist I was taught not to denigrate other systems. However, I may have reached my limit lately.

We have an MMA gym in our small town that has been operation for just over a year. I've trained with them, and other students of ours have too. Polite people. There is a lot of conditioning, not a lot of skill training. Now they are putting people in amateur fights.

I am friends with a pretty solid martial artist that in a conversation the other day said he had been training more than 20 years, and earned a 5th dan in 3 (may have been 5, long conversation), Japanese JJ styles and his purple in BJJ. Outside of boxing as a teen, I know he's trained less than 15 years, closer to 10. I knew his first instructor, when he tested for shodan etc.

So, at what point do you speak up about things? I've began giving a very guarded opinion on the MMA gym when asked by people I know. The other case, I've not crossed into yet. He's a long time friend, family with family. We all are appalled at the quality of martial training and decry bad instruction passing off goods to the uniformed. Eyes roll and people get upset over unearned rank. But, what do you do about it? I know many will say, keep training, keep teaching and quality will win out. Where do we draw the line though, say something?

Kisshu fushin, Oni te hotoke kokoro. A demon's hand, a saint's heart. -- Osensei Shoshin Nagamine

• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

The majority of people will likely only listen to what they want to hear. For this reason the best thing to do is probably to remain silent or only make very general comments.