• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

I Knew More When I Was A White Belt

Interesting article. and how true..

I Knew More When I Was A White Belt - By Karen Eden

TaekwondoTimes - November 2000

Its true. I knew more when I was a white belt. Its funny: the more you train, the more you begin to realize how little you really know. I'm estimating that by the time I'm a master, I'll be one of the dumbest people on the planet. Let me explain to you what I mean.

When I was a white belt, I knew that people would respect me because I was a martial artist. Now I realize that I don't need anyone's respect. Yet, I can still respect others because I respect myself first.

When I was a white belt, I was positive that my newfound discipline would be enough to get me through my hustle and bustle lifestyle. My years of training have since taught me that I need to slow down.

As a white belt, I knew I would have the confidence to stand up and kick anybody's butt who belittled me. As a black belt, I know to just turn around and go home.

When I began my "grasshopper" days, I knew that with training would come a brand new, shiny positive outlook on life. Now I just pray a lot more.

I've read dozens of books on "warriorship," and have seen every Van Damme, Segal and Chuck Norris movie—all to help me become a champion in the ring. Now I realize that fighting is just like life: you do the best you

can with what you have and wait to see what happens next.

I can remember how important it seemed to be able to look at myself in the mirror and see that black belt wrapped around my waist. Now I know its just a piece of material. The real belt is wrapped around my heart and displayed in my attitude. The pride I thought I would feel has gradually been replaced by humility in realizing how tremendous the world is and how little I really know.