• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

How to throw a powerful Kyokushin round kick?

SpeedKills

I know the technique I can do it, but Im having trouble getting my hips to work reliably when I step out.

Do you have any tips for when it comes to getting a powerful hip rotation EVERYTIME rather than once every 5 tries and to less and greater extent ie sometimes I get it and its real powerful sometimes I get it and its not as powerful and often I dont get it at all

Specifically the initial step out with the foot is what im having trouble with.

This guy throws plenty of them to DEVASTATING effect he is one of my fav fighters ever. He has brutal power. Hope you enjoy :)

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7sIDAmv3bks&feature=player_detailpage

• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

First of all, welcome to the forum!

I don't practice Kyokushin, and I'm not an expert, but I would like to think I know a thing or two about mawashi-geri. There isn't any real shortcut to opening/turning-over the hips--you have to spend a lot of time practicing kicking properly. A big thing to keep in mind is that the foot of your supporting leg is going to have to turn as far to the side as you can get it, or your hips will be locked up. Something that helped me was actually practicing turning my kick over so that it makes contact at a downward angle. In order to do that, you HAVE to turn your hips over, so it forces you to do it.

Kishimoto-Di | 2014-Present | Sensei: Ulf Karlsson

Shorin-Ryu/Shinkoten Karate | 2010-Present: Yondan, Renshi | Sensei: Richard Poage (RIP), Jeff Allred (RIP)

Shuri-Ryu | 2006-2010: Sankyu | Sensei: Joey Johnston, Joe Walker (RIP)

Judo | 2007-2010: Gokyu | Sensei: Joe Walker (RIP), Ramon Rivera (RIP), Adrian Rivera

Illinois Practical Karate | International Neoclassical Karate Kobudo Society

First of all, welcome to the forum!