• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

Karate and aikido together?

Does anyone think that Karate and Aikido are compatible to cross train with eachother? I have 25 years in Karate and my knees are already suffering, I find the mind set relaxing and the attitude refreshing in my new style of Aikido. Does any one think I can train them together?

Look to the far mountain and see all.

• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

I don't see why you couldn't. I studied Aikido for about a 6 month period while I was doing TKD, and I found spots in techniques where I was thinking to myself, "I could put a kick here, I'd do a strike there." I think they would compliment each other quite nicely.

• 3 weeks later...
Does anyone think that Karate and Aikido are compatible to cross train with eachother? I have 25 years in Karate and my knees are already suffering, I find the mind set relaxing and the attitude refreshing in my new style of Aikido. Does any one think I can train them together?

you sure can! but if the reason to studying something else is your suffering knees, then I wonder whether aikido is the right thing...

regards robert

I'd agree with all the above, seems to be a good match, each giving more or less what the other lacks (if that makes sence)

I'd do it if I could find an Akido club near me, as it is I might pick up Ju-Jitsu again as my second art to compliment Kyokushinkai...I doubt that i will to be honest, but I'd like to think I might!

LOL!

“A human life gains luster and strength only when it is polished and tempered.”

Sosai Masutatsu Oyama (1923 - 1994) Founder of Kyokushin Karate.

I'd agree with all the above, seems to be a good match, each giving more or less what the other lacks (if that makes sense)...

I agree :)

Tang Soo Do: 3rd Dan '18

Shotokan Karate: 2nd Dan '04

• 3 weeks later...
  • 4 years later...