• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

Hello from the Blind Martial Artist.

Maybe I should have come here first instead of diving straight into the forums but here I am now better late than never. My name is Mark Brown, I am totally blind and lost my sight 10 years ago due to my diabetes. I studied Judo as a child but didn't really get back into Martial Arts until going blind.

I am now a 1st Dan Shodan in karate, I graded in April 2013 which for me was the greatest achievement of my life so far. Just come fresh from operation table after having a kidney transplant March 2014 after suffering with kidney disease for the last few years, little bit tender still but so glad to back training in my dojo.

I train 2 times a week with my local karate club and train every single day inside my own dojo which I built in my back garden from an old car garage I have a personal trainer/assistant who helps me with my day to day activities who is also a martial artist. Collectively we make youtube videos and have a website where we try to offer free karate instruction via our videos for anybody who is interested in learning or watching some karate and self defense techniques. Martial arts training and participation is my life, we currently study quite a lot of styles from the chinese Wing Chun Kung Fu, Traditional and japanese karate to boxing, wrestling and anything else that comes along and catches our attention.

Humbled to be apart of this forum, only just discovered it and still cant get over how much information and interesting reading there is on this site, I think I will be apart of this forum for a long time and look forward to any future discussions and meeting new like minded friends.