• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

Kata Question

JonHunter

.Hi,

Regardless of style of the karate being practiced should the techniques included within the styles katas be taught/learnt as singular strikes/blocks/stances before learning the kata as a whole.

Now that may seem a stupid question, right?

Now im a student of GKR (stop groaning,ha) and im looking at what's involved with Saifa.

Stances In Saifa: Saifa commonly uses four basic stances, Sumo (shiko datchi), Cat (neko ashi datchi), Long forward (zenkutsu datchi) and Pigeon toe stance (sanchin datchi). It also incorporates two advanced stances, one legged Heron stance (Sagi ashi datchi) and Reverse cat stance (kosa datchi).Strikes In Saifa: Saifa’s most commonly used strikes are Backfists (ura uchi) and both groin and head level Hammer fists (tettsui). It also uses the Simultaneous double punch (dan tsuki), Short punch (shito-tsuki) and Stomach level punch (chudan tsuki)

As far as i know Sagi ashi datchi, kosa datchi, tettsui and dan tsuki are not even part of the syllibus? which seems a little strange to me.

Presumably this is not the case in Goju (Goju kata, right?)

thanks

Jon

• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
.Hi,

Regardless of style of the karate being practiced should the techniques included within the styles katas be taught/learnt as singular strikes/blocks/stances before learning the kata as a whole.

Now that may seem a stupid question, right?

Now im a student of GKR (stop groaning,ha) and im looking at what's involved with Saifa.