• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

Anyone with experience with a revolving curriculum?

I'm new to running my own martial arts program and I recently came across an article on the internet about a rotating curriculum or a modular curriculum. I have some experience with a modular curriculum from an academic point of view as I attended a school once where the curriculum was all modular. It seemed to work quite well... I was just wondering if anyone here had any experience with something like this or any advice on designing curriculums.

All the best!

https://www.tkdunlimited.net

"Even though our path is completely different from the warrior arts of the past, it is not necessary to abandon totally the old ways. Absorb venerable traditions into this Art by clothing them with fresh garments, and building on the classic styles to create better forms." -Morihei Ueshiba

• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

Read something before about a revolving thing, it would cover everything needed from white to black but not in a logical order...

Beginners need basics, advanced students need basics too but also something more advanced. Some students will need the step by step approach because they can't handle too much too soon, others will go off and learn/practice what you teach them so will get bored with the same stuff.

Start with what your Sensei taught you and then add to it when you get more comfortable, try not to make it better every week as you will soon run out of ideas and realise that you have strayed from the syllabus and basics.

You will at some point be able to swap and change your teaching on who turns up and on what they need the most. I've started plenty of lessons with a plan and within 10 minutes thrown it out to react to what i've seen in front of me.