• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

Karate in MMA

DSKarate

Hey guys I'm new in this page, my topic is about what you think of my plans, I'm 14 years old and I practice karate style Goju-ryu in the ken shin kan school, my plan is training karate until I get to 3rd Dan, then I will practice mma and train in bjj. After that I will get into cage fights and try to get to the ufc. I know it looks like an impossible dream, but I want to hear your comments.

The ultimate aim of the art of Karate lies not in victory or defeat, but in the perfection of the characters of its participants.

• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

Welcome to the forum! While those goals aren't necessarily impossible, I think they are a little too specific, and you will probably change your goals as you get older. You may get tired of karate before Sandan, or you may reach Sandan and decide you want to stick with karate for the rest of your life. You may try out MMA/BJJ and decide you actually hate it, or you may like the training but hate actually fighting.

All that said, I think that if your ultimate goal is to compete in MMA at a high level, you would be better served by starting your MMA training now. I love karate, and it's a fantastic martial art, but it really isn't geared toward MMA competition.

Kishimoto-Di | 2014-Present | Sensei: Ulf Karlsson

Shorin-Ryu/Shinkoten Karate | 2010-Present: Yondan, Renshi | Sensei: Richard Poage (RIP), Jeff Allred (RIP)

Shuri-Ryu | 2006-2010: Sankyu | Sensei: Joey Johnston, Joe Walker (RIP)

Judo | 2007-2010: Gokyu | Sensei: Joe Walker (RIP), Ramon Rivera (RIP), Adrian Rivera

Illinois Practical Karate | International Neoclassical Karate Kobudo Society

Hi DSKarate, welcome to the forum.