• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

What do instructors do in their "real" life

Many people (myself included) dream of being full-time MA instructors. However, most teachers have other jobs and teach part-time. This is true in Okinawa and Japan, as well as the US.

I wonder if there are some fields that attract MA teachers and students more than others? I'm not sure, though. It seems my teachers over the years have been a pretty eclectic bunch.

My teachers have been:

School bus driver

Construction worker

Bartender

Graduate student

Medical doctor

University professor

Police officer (retired)

Full-Time MA teacher

As for me, I'm a high school teacher (and former cop). I'm just a part-time MA teacher, too.

So, is their a career path that attracts MA weirdos like us?

"Honour, not honours." ~ Sir Richard Francis Burton

http://oronokarate.weebly.com

• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

my full time instructor is retired, but he was a welder and before that he owned a small store. My other instructors were govenerment employees, fire fighters and one was a coffee truck driver!

Even monkeys fall from trees

In addition to doing about 19 hours a week of Karate teaching (excluding training), while being an instructor I have in my 'real life' been:

- a student

- a professional in the comms (advertising/marketing/PR) field

- a member of the Army

Reece Cummings

Kodokan Cummings Karate Dojo

5th Dan, Matsubayashiryu (Shorinryu) Karatedo Kobujutsu

1st Dan, Yamaneryu Kobudo

I install seamless gutter and also work for a small printing company. Those subscription cards in magazines- I print about a million a night.

I've trained under and with a plumber, an owner of a construction company, a law student, a couple cops, a philosophy professor, a chiropractor, a hairdresser/computer repair guy/minister and who knows what else.

My fists bleed death. -Akuma