• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

Question About What Style Should I Choose.

Rockford Tyson

Hey, guys!! I am a martial artist. I have two black belts, one in Taekwondo and another in Brazilian Jiu-Jitsu. I am in my early thirties and have been practicing martial arts since I was a kid.

Recently, I have decided to study karate, as I don't intend to pursue Dan rankings in Taekwondo, and I find Karate one of the biggest and most beautiful martial arts with a great tradition.

I want to study a style that fits certain characteristics, and I have been unable to find much information around me or on the web. Can any of you guys elucidate to me the differences between styles, both betwen Okinawan and Japanese, as well the differences between them all as far as stances, footwork, if they have a blocking or evasive philosophy of defending against the opponents attacks, what styles are aggressive or instead counter-striking, if they emphasize ranged attacks or in the pocket strikes, etcetera.

I am looking for a style with the following characteristics:

- Okinawan rather than Japanese, as I prefer the traditional arts always.

- Full-contact sparring and effective techniques for real combat. That is, I want a style that allows me to kick butt if needed, and not one that only has beautiful choreographies.

- Not Kyokushin! It strikes me as being more similar to Muay Thai than karate, and I don't like that.

- Needs to have wicked kicks, as I am looking to increase my kicking repertoire.

-Emphasizes ranged attacks or close ones, as striking in the mid-ranged is one of the most stupid things you can do - speaking from personal experience here.

- I don't mind it having some traditional techniques that are not suitable for today's combat.

Does any style fit the bill? I was reading about Shorinji-Ryu and it stried me as being what I am looking for, but Shorinji-Ryu is not a pure Okinawan style.