• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

Shotokan techniques taught that aren't allowed in kumite

bakatenshidna

I've been doing martial arts for about 7 years, the last year being my training in shotokan karate and I've learned many techniques over my studies that are effective but somehow not allowed in kumite. Some are understandable because they are not of the style being taught but others for example; palm strikes, ridge hands, shutos, and koken are not only not allow but can warrant a disqualification. This troubles me because I feel this is not only unfair but restrictive as well. There is also a gray area about sweeps and throws that I feel will forever go unanswered and any attempt to try using them could lead to scoldings from my sensei. If anyone can shed some light on this or has any personal experience in this matter it'd be helpful. thanks

• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • Replies 37
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

We have banned techniques too such as axe kicks and spinning elbows. They are so for a reason, they are difficult to control and very damaging.

Look to the far mountain and see all.

We have banned techniques too such as axe kicks and spinning elbows. They are so for a reason, they are difficult to control and very damaging.
This was the case with me as well. Maybe your Sensei feels the same? A lot of techniques I learned that involved shutos, ridge hands and palm strikes involved either knocking someone out or breaking a bone so it's understandable that your Sensei would restrict these. Remember that sparring, while being a great way to practice certain techniques and understanding what it's like to hit and be hit (and it's a lot of fun!) but it does not reflect how a fight works in the street. Usually, if we are jumped the confrontation lasts less than a minute, this is why we do one steps.