• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

Does anyone here take the art Aikijutsu or know anything about it? I was with an excellent instructor for several months that taught this art and I was blown away by how complete it was. Unfortunately, he's dislexic and often mistakes the spellings of things. He was pronouncing and spelling the name of the art Aiki-Jujitsu. I had found no information on this, but a little on Aikijutsu.

It focuses heavily on wrist locks, throws, breaks and other disabling moves. My sensei also had different styles of Kung Fu mixed in that really made the blocks and strikes feel comfortable.

I hope someone has heard of this before.

Edit- Wow, that post is all over the place.

• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

Hi Kyle-San,

I dont suppose i am an expert at aiki-jitsu seen as i am only a 5th kyu yellow belt, but i will try and assist you if needs be.

I like it a lot - the art is VERY complete as you say and also the locks and disabling moves are at an all time high when studying. they are more biased in the gradings towards locks and breaks than throws. Because lcks and breaks can be applied from a larger number of positions.

Wanna discuss it a bit more just keep on replying. I woudl also like to hear what grade you are.

Thanx

Anthony Bullock

1st Dan Black Belt - Shotokan Karate

5th Kyu Yellow Belt - Aiki-Jutsu

https://www.universaldojo.com Coming Soon

Moobrak,

Oh, I'm just a little white belt. I know my sensei quite well (he is a friend of the family and has been so for 6 or 7 years) and am consistantly amazed by the higher level moves he's showing. I won't be able to have much more contact with his school (I'm a good 12 hour drive away), but intend to go back during Christmas breaks and summers. If I can get myself to a solid Green then I'll be more than satisfied.

Does your school break down into the different animal styles (Tiger, Crane, Snake, Mantis, Monkey) as well?

lol.