• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

Am I in a mcdojo?

Epyon

I just started training shotokan karate and I think we spar with gloves on, but when I watch clips of japanese karate association karate fights they are always without gloves. This is really distressing me.

• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • Replies 55
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Most dojos spar with gloves. Some don't, and some dojos will abandon the gloves at higher levels but most dojos use gloves. This is so that new people don't stray away mostly. Getting punched hurts even with gloves on and this can be discouraging. Gloves don't point to a dojo being a McDojo, but to a consideration of safety and newer students.

Martial arts training is 30% classroom training, 70% solo training.

https://www.instagram.com/nordic_karate/

I just started training shotokan karate and I think we spar with gloves on, but when I watch clips of japanese karate association karate fights they are always without gloves. This is really distressing me.

The use of gloves doesn't make it a McDojo--my dojo uses gloves, and so do Muay Thai, MMA and boxing gyms. Gloves are a safety precaution to help reduce injuries from sparring, and there is no shame in trying to prevent injuries during training.