• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

Tips for improving kata?

karnier

Hey guys, just found this forum out of the blue. I've been doing karate for a couple of years now and only about last year or so I've been getting into the sport aspect of it and I do much better at kata than kumite. Are there any people here who do it as a sport in AAU or NKF?

I'm really looking into improving my kata, I got 3rd in NKF national team trials this year and really want to make it to panamericans next year, any advice?

I do Shito-ryu

• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

Kata for life and kata for competition are 2 different animals. One is wild that for the streets, for self defense and one is domesticated, for aesthetics, nothing more than competition

I think if one only wants kata to win trophies, one must treat it as a Japanese dance, and work on that. Good luck, hopefully someone willbe able to advise better, OSU

"Challenge is a Dragon with a Gift in its mouth....Tame the Dragon and the Gift is Yours....." Noela Evans (author)

Hi Karnier,

I'm in Shaolin Kempo but I've won a few first place trophies in Kata against traditional Karate guys.

The best thing I can tell you about kata in competition is to balance the speed, the intensity, and the soft. Ask your instructor, or even your Shihan to perform the kata for you as if he was in a competition. See how he does it. Ask what aspects of the kata should be hard, which parts should be soft, and which parts should be intense.

When I perform a kata for competition, I exaggerate the "feel" of the kata a lot. You have to make the judges feel your kata.

Hope that helps :)

Shodan - Shaolin Kempo

███████████████▌█

Welcome to the forum!