• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

Re-starting my journey but stuck on what style to do!

Wabit

Hi everyone, just a quick few questions to help me make my mind up on what to do.

I studied Shotokan and got to 1st Kyu and gave up due to knee trouble, and moving to another county. (Bad excuses I know but I was young and stupid)

I am Female in my early 40's and not very fit and about 2-3 stone overweight, which is why I'm hitting the gym again!

Now I'm wanting to start all over again and have found 2 Dojo's near me.

One is ITF style TKD which I have been to a few times and really enjoyed, even the jogging / exercises which I haven't done in years, but had to stop due to damaging Ligaments at work. And after several Physio sessions I am now able to return to jogging / gym work.

The second one is Koku-Ryu and is near the gym I've started going to to strength my knee back up.

Looking at Koku-Ryu it seems a lot like Shotokan and am not sure if I want to go back to that same style, but TKD is also very similar. I am so stuck as to which one to choose so any input would help me greatly!

Thank you in advance.

Life is far more important then what you do for a living!!

Work to Live, not live to work.

• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

I also had/have issues with my knees - cartilage problems, was treated by the GP, Physio and acupunctists.

Returned to the MA's (having done several styles of karate, inc Shotokan) and found that the best MA at this moment in time for me is Tang Soo Do, I guess the best description that I can give is a cross between Shotokan and TKD. Personally I ruled out TKD because of the kicks, especially when you go up the grades. As for Koku-Ryu I believe that it is more based on Wado-Ryu, rather than Shotokan karate. Alot of the kata's may be similar (with minor differents), however the applications (bunkai) I believe is different.