• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

Learning at home...

Good idea or train wreck in progress  

15 members have voted

1. 1. Good idea or train wreck in progress

• Good idea
    • Train wreck in progress

I am beginning a course of study at home for Tang Soo Do and Hapkido. I know that there will be some challenges to the idea, and I know that it is more difficult than having someone show you exactly how to position, etc... but I am wondering if it is a terrible idea, or just one that may not work for everyone.

To background why I even coisndered this, I am almost completely self-taught (or with minimal supervision) in many aspects of the accomplishments that I have made. I obviously went through the protocol when it came to certifications and disciplines; however, I usually took the lead, and was able to do so effectively, even when I did not know from the start what I was doing. To summarize, I do learn well on my own (I earned a 4.0 in an accredited MBA program online).

Also I do have law-enforcement training including (unnamed) self defense and takedown techniques. I know the basic (horse, fighting, forward) stances and foot positionings, and how to take a fall.

The master of the dojo also informs me that he has 1) certified several competition level students (47 to date have made 1st dan in one or more styles from this method), and 2) I already (not even joined yet) have the person's home number, and support from their side that is almost unwavering.

Overall, I am wondering from those with experience, whether this will be possible, or whether I am just shooting myself in the foot!

It is what you learn when you think you know everything that matters most! (unknown)

" I never saw a wild thing sorry for itself. A small bird will drop frozen dead from a bough without ever having felt sorry for itself". (DH Lawrence)

"The only stupid question is the one that was never asked!!" (Me!!!)

• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt