• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

Japanese terminology: is it necessary? harmful? Silly?

JustLuke

When I studied Shotokan, we used Japanese terminology for everything. My Shorin-Ryu teacher, however, uses English terminology for many things and only uses Okinawan/Japanese terminology sparingly - primarily retaining the Kata names and titles such as Sensei.

Using Okinawan/Japanese terminology certainly adds flavour to training, but is it useful? Does it provide a necessary link to the past? Could it actually be detrimental to learning Karate in some way? Is it just plain silly?

Thoughts, opinions... All are welcome.

• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • Replies 21
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

I personally don't care one way or the other.

I prefer English for most situations just because most of us, myself included, don't really get the other language right and don't get the implication behind what we're saying.

I can see keeping it for hardcore traditional arts that are focused on preserving the past.

For modern combatives, I'd just as soon use English. It's a different goal and getting everyone up to speed on other terminology seems to be a waste of time. The other instance I don't really like it used is in BJJ, and that's just me because of the schools I've come thru always use English for technique names. I get irritated when people start calling them by the Judo (in Japanese) equivalents.

I have no real reason for that last particular bias, it's just me :lol:

I think it should all come down to this: Who do you learn from and who do you want to learn from?