• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

My First Camp

blacknebula

I mentioned in the introductions thread that I just got back from a 4 day camp, and someone suggested that I write a short summary post, so here it is!

I've been training for about 2 years at an ISKF affiliated dojo, so I attended the ISKF Mountain States Camp, just north of Denver, CO. At one point my Sensei and another instructor from my dojo were also planning on going as well, but a new job and an injury prevented that from occuring. Therefore I was very nervous about going as I didn't really know anyone, but everyone was very nice and friendly!

The first night there was one training in the evening. The second and third days we trained from 6:30-7:30 AM, 10:30-11:30 AM, and 3:30-5:00 PM. Most of the time they split out the coloured belts and we had a separate instructor. There were only 15-20 of us (as opposed to probably a hundred or so black belts) so the class was nice and small and we got lots of individual attention. :) The last class on the final morning everyone stayed together. Master Okazaki taught this class. It was a bit difficult to understand him and I was horribly nervous whenever he came anywhere near me, but I was thrilled to have trained with him. He did a very neat three way drill that I really enjoyed. There was also a tournament on the third day, but only brown and black belts were allowed to compete, so I contented myself with watching (one of these days I must learn those referee signals!).