• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

Taekwondo Side Kicks

I've been practicing Taekwondo for about 12 years now and have noticed the biggest discrepancy in technique between schools is in side kicks.

I was raised in an Olympic-style school and start all of my side kicks by bringing my knee straight up in front of me. From there, I pull my knee back towards my belt knot on one side and drive my leg straight out. I always tell my students to imagine they're "pushing" someone away.

My theory: Pulling your leg back as far as possible gives your kick as much space as possible to build up speed.

I've seen a lot of different takes on side kicks. Some involve kicking with the heel, others with the blade of the foot. Some people pull their knees back tight like I do, while others don't chamber back as far. How do you throw a side kick?

Nick Zorn

4th Degree Black Belt

Owner, West of the Moon ATA

https://www.myataschool.com

• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

Depends on what my goal is and what position I am in when I decide I want to kick. But if we're going for a technical point of view, I guess we tend to not pull back as far as you do. True it gives you more distance in order to build up speed but that is also more distance to be seen. In non-technical scenarios, such as sparring, I won't even chamber as far back as I do in basics, in order for a quicker kick. It does sacrifice some power but the kick arrives sooner.

For foot positions I used blade of the foot for striking but when I want a pushing kick I use heel.

"Everything has its beauty, but not everyone sees it." ~ Confucius