• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

Wado watered down version of shoto ?

datisstom

I'm new to MA and started wado karate a couple of weeks ago. I am starting to have my doubts about this style however.

Before joining any MA school I joined some trainings, and I did a shotokan training as well. I know wado has its origins in shotokan and jiu-jitsu, but I noticed a couple of things. First, shotokan seems much tougher than wado. Second, in shotokan the karatekas did body hardening, wich we don't do at all when practicing wado. Third, Lyoto Machida. I think Machida wouldn't stand a chance in MMA if he had been practicing wado.

It seems to me that wado is just a watered down version of the real karate, which is shotokan/kyokushin. Am I right thinking this?

• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
I'm new to MA and started wado karate a couple of weeks ago. I am starting to have my doubts about this style however.

Before joining any MA school I joined some trainings, and I did a shotokan training as well. I know wado has its origins in shotokan and jiu-jitsu, but I noticed a couple of things. First, shotokan seems much tougher than wado. Second, in shotokan the karatekas did body hardening, wich we don't do at all when practicing wado. Third, Lyoto Machida. I think Machida wouldn't stand a chance in MMA if he had been practicing wado.

It seems to me that wado is just a watered down version of the real karate, which is shotokan/kyokushin. Am I right thinking this?