• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

Goju Ryu books/DvDs

Martial Walrus

Yay, my first post!

I have been practicing Taekwondo for about four years. However, since I started college an hour and a half from home, I have only been able to visit my master about once a month. In the mean time, I have been training on my own. Since solo training can get a little boring at times, I have decided to learn kata from other styles as a way to challenge myself and increase my knowledge as a martial artist.

I would like to start by learning the kata of Goju Ryu. They seem very challenging and contain many things that would be a valuable addition to what I already know. However, the closest Goju dojo is twenty miles away, and I don't have a car. Until I am able to get formal teaching, I'll be making due with videos and diagrams.

Does anyone know of any good books, DvDs, or other resources that provide detailed instruction on kihon, kata, and bunkai that they would recommend? Also, any advice additional advice is welcome.

"I have mastered the greatest technique of all: Being much bigger than my opponent."

"The hammer fist solves EVERYTHING!"

• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
Ku ku cachoo, my friend. Start here.

Ahh, yes. I have been using youtube as my primary resource already. I'm asking if anyone knows any other good resources. Sorry, I should have specified.

Also, I'm particularly interested in books, especially older ones. I don't know exactly why, but using a book for reference seems more appropriate some how than using electronic media. More nostalgic, perhaps?

"I have mastered the greatest technique of all: Being much bigger than my opponent."