• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

I'm Afraid...

>I'm afraid of the punch that doesn't penetrate.

>I'm afraid of the kick the doesn't cause harm.

>I'm afraid of the block that doesn't deflect.

>I'm afraid of the strike that doesn't break.

>I'm afraid of the application that's not effective.

Too often, as practitioners of the martial arts will do, we train; but I fear that many practitioners train reserved. Many are taught, for example, when they spar, to stop/arrest any said technique within a hair's-breadth of any said target for safeties sake, and then its realized and reinforced at some local weekend tournament.

What happens when the technique counts and it doesn't because of practices that are honed in us?

As an instructor, I'm responsible for what and how I teach my students. I'd hate to train my students for tournaments and belts only because there are limits to that type of constant training, imho.

On a closing note, live training is critical, and in that, live contact should be paramount. That's why I teach my student to be that resisting Uke when training, for example, in Tuite, but only after the technique/application has been taught.

I look forward to your responses...thank you.

:)

**Proof is on the floor!!!

• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

I agree with you wholeheartedly. My students and training partners are people who I care about a lot. In the event that they must defend themselves, it is of great importance that they have trained in a manner that will give them the skills needed to survive. Training without honest feedback, which means actually hitting and being hit and tapping a lot) can develop habits that will get you killed.

My fists bleed death. -Akuma

I agree with you absolutely. Any martial art should be about defending yourself. That's certainly what they were created for, and I feel that a lot of that spirit has been lost in the long run.