• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

Tai Sabaki

shinobitribe

Hi guys...

I have been training for 6 months now so I am relatively new. I am struggling with side ways movements that are essential to move off the line during sparring.

I was wondering if anyone could suggest any training methods to improve Tai Sabaki and movements that we use during sparring?I want to know some training methods that I can do by myself

Thanks in advance

• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • Replies 23
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

You can try out something we do from time to time in my dojo we call the "Eight Directions Drill." Inside the dojo or room you're training in, assign north-south-east-west in the room. From here you will then take a step in each of the eight directions, using whatever stances and techniques you like (start off with zenkutsu dachi and one of the four basic blocks, with a gyaku tsuki as a counter):

(1) Northwest

(2) Southeast

(3) Northeast

(4) Southwest

(5) East

(6) West

(7) South

(8) North

Each time you turn in stance, you'll improve your agility and stepping as well as stance shifting and a number of other nice little benefits. So once you step towards NW, you would then turn around SE, for example. Hard to explain, but I hope you get the gist.

Hi guys...

I have been training for 6 months now so I am relatively new. I am struggling with side ways movements that are essential to move off the line during sparring.

I was wondering if anyone could suggest any training methods to improve Tai Sabaki and movements that we use during sparring?I want to know some training methods that I can do by myself

Thanks in advance

Please don't hate my obvious answer, well it's obvious to me that I'd use this answer, seeing I'm a staunch proponent of it...

Kata. After all, Kata is imbued with Tai Sabaki.

:)

**Proof is on the floor!!!

Hi guys...

Thanks in advance