• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

Passed first Belt Test

Hello all, this is my first post. I've been coming to this forum for a few months for motivation and by using the search function I've found answers to most all of my questions. I used to box at a golden gloves gym years ago when i was a teenager and after sitting in a cubicle for the last few years and watching my gut get bigger i decided to learn a new martial art. I used the forum to research what i wanted to learn and decided to look around at various schools close to my home and eventually settled on a dojo that really met my needs.

Sooooo I started kempo/kashinryu a few months ago and have loved every minute of it. I've been going about 4-5 times/week and practicing at home whenever I have free time. I never really thought I would test for belts as my motivation was to improve physically and i never saw the color of the belt as having anything to do with improvement. I always felt like you know inherently when your skill is improving. For example, at my old boxing gym, you just KNEW who was skilled by their technique and work ethic. Whereas now, the color of the belt does determine rank. However, when we spar, I can actually compete pretty well with some of the higher ranks due to the stiking and hands that my former boxing experience had trained, but I still get kicked in the face, hahaha, because i'm not really used to watching for feet/knees.

I love the soft-fist aspects of kempo and the controlling joint locks and throws. I like the way you can control the person without really hurting them, or yourself, in the process.