• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

Karate, a complete fighting system

Ueshirokarate

Dobbersky asked me about Judo and Karate katas. I have some judo experience, but it is all throws and ground work. So if any of you hold rank in both Okinawan Karate and Judo, please share your knowledge on this topic.

Here is an interesting article on how/why karate is a complete fighting art:

http://seinenkai.com/art-sumo.html

Matsubayashi Ryu

CMMACC (Certified Mixed Martial Arts Conditioning Coach)

• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • Replies 23
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

I feel that "KARATE" IS a complete fighting style, the only thing is we HAVE to study other Arts, like Judo, to find what we already know within our chosen RYU. I have added some kata from Judo and other styles Old and new and a style Daido Juku Kudo which is a Kyokushin Judo Mix, the "latest" HYBRID "Fighting" Karate

GOSHIN JITSU KATA (JUDO)

KIME NO KATA (JUDO)

Sorry but I am using DAIDO JUKU KUDO to emphasis the use of Techniques

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oyApeFXVhp0&list=FLhQonTwDRlWjHXpE9uPl7nQ&index=10

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ITufXJlVmCs&feature=mh_lolz&list=FLhQonTwDRlWjHXpE9uPl7nQ

Then we go to Okinawan Karate

NAIHANCHI KATA (SHORIN RYU)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0AXOu1SKde4&list=FLhQonTwDRlWjHXpE9uPl7nQ&index=14

And ASHIHARA KARATE (JISSEN KATA)

This now moves on to a kata which is used in many karate styles which emphasises all of the above

BASSAI DAI (SHOTOKAN BASED)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fzYTDQNHVXk

"Challenge is a Dragon with a Gift in its mouth....Tame the Dragon and the Gift is Yours....." Noela Evans (author)

I agree we have to study other arts for a variety of reason. First of which that grappling has pretty much been removed in most karate systems and secondly it is proper strategy to study your opponents. I'll look at these links. Thanks for posting.