• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

Starting Shido-kan soon

emerica1184

I'm starting a shido-kan karate class soon at Mighigan State University and I'm very excited to get started. Does anyone study shido-kan and could tell me how it compares to other styles like shotokan and kyokushin? I have very little knowledge when it comes to how different each style is so any help is appreciated!

• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

Shidokan is a very competition-oriented system that is a mix of a few different styles, from Kyokushin to boxing to Shotokan. The tournaments include knockdown fighting, Muay Thai, and grappling often all in the same fight just in different rounds. Boxing-only rounds are pretty common too. It's a great contemporary art that will certainly get you in great shape and open up the door for competitions.

Here's a little highlight video that might show you a bit more:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=x_R6loHvzdg

see i've heard that before but idk if thats exactly what this is. https://www.msu.edu/~butler/KIN%20102c.pdf

that is the link to the course website

Ah, I see now. This is a Shorin Ryu organization. Looks like they write it Shido-kan to differentiate themselves. Shorin Ryu is one of the main Okinawan karate styles and is very interesting and can be quite effective.

see i've heard that before but idk if thats exactly what this is. https://www.msu.edu/~butler/KIN%20102c.pdf

Ah, I see now. This is a Shorin Ryu organization. Looks like they write it Shido-kan to differentiate themselves. Shorin Ryu is one of the main Okinawan karate styles and is very interesting and can be quite effective.

okay awesome! That is exactly what I was hoping for any pointers for a first timer?

okay awesome! That is exactly what I was hoping for any pointers for a first timer?