• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

Was your first dojo your best experience?

Being new to this forum as an active member, I thought I would start off with an fairly innocuous question to get some differing opinions. A little about my MA background:

- 3 years training in a TKD/generic karate mixture where I earned a brown belt (2nd kyu/gup if I remember correctly)

- During that time, I also took some Aikido and Judo classes that were taught by the same instructor as my TKD/karate

- I had a layoff of 12 years where I did not train

- Trained for a short time at a straight TKD school and a short time at a Shotokan dojo

- Took a free intro class at an Isshinryu dojo

After about 12 years away from MA, I started training at a TKD school near where I lived at the time. I really enjoyed it and a I was able to shake off the rust pretty easily. There were many similarities to my first school, but also glaring dissimilarities. Unfortunately, I took a job transfer so I had to cut my training short after about three months. Since relocating, I took a free lesson at an Isshinryu dojo and trained for a few months at a Shotokan dojo near my work after trying numerous schools in the area.

As good as these subsequent experiences were, none of them could compare to my first school in which I trained. Perhaps my rose-colored glasses are thick :D . None of these other schools seemed to have the energy and spirit I had previously experienced. I was looking for hard training, but was unable to find it. Every once in a while I would get a good workout, but not on a consistent basis. I missed the hard sparring and hard drills.

So I ask you all, was your first time the best???

• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt