• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

My first tournament is coming up.

Mitsuko

Good day.

This is my first post, so I am still brand new to the art of karate.

Just a bit of background. I am 29 years old. I have been practicing Shotokan karate since the beginning of March 2011. My first grading exam will take place on the 24th of May where if I'm found to be provicient in the qualifying criteria, I will progress to 9th kyu yellow belt.

My first tournament, hosted by our club will take place on the 25th of June. It is compulsary for all students that have been with the club longer than 3 months to compete in this tournament.

I have an open division, which means that all gents over 18 from white to black belt will compete. What can I expect from this tournament? I have never competed in any kumite bouts and would like to be well prepared. How much force can I expect from my opponent's kicks and punches? How do I prepare my body physically to deal with the force of these blows? And can you suggest any training tips on how to handle the impact of these?

Cheers

Character, sincerity, etiquette, effort, self-control.

• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

It reads as though you are concerned about contact. Aside from conditioning your body, and match experience, I can't think of a way to prepare for getting hit in competition.

Just remember that your opponent will react to your attitude. If he feels threatened by your aggression, nervousness, or uncertainty, he will react to protect himself.

That is absolutely correct. I am not sure as to how much force is considered a legal blow without you or your opponent actually getting a warning for excessive force and lack of control.