• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

Kicking the air?

When my instructor has us go up and down the floor doing kick combinations in the air how far are you suppose to kick? My instructor told me when I first started to go slow, but as I got use to it I could kick the air as hard as I could. He always talks about snapping your kicks. So I have been doing this for a few months and have started developing knee pain. Any one have any suggestions on how far they kick, when kicking the air. Do you go all the way or stop short?

• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • Replies 25
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

When my instructor has us go up and down the floor doing kick combinations in the air how far are you suppose to kick? My instructor told me when I first started to go slow, but as I got use to it I could kick the air as hard as I could. He always talks about snapping your kicks. So I have been doing this for a few months and have started developing knee pain. Any one have any suggestions on how far they kick, when kicking the air. Do you go all the way or stop short?

You are going to tear up your knees if you kick the air full-force to full-extension. It's going to take a while longer before you can increase to full-force kicks in the air, but still don't fully extend them because that is going to seriously stress the ligaments and cartilage in your knees. It takes time to develop your kicks in the air, and it will teach you to have very good control with your kicks later, so take your time so you can keep kicking into old age.

Kishimoto-Di | 2014-Present | Sensei: Ulf Karlsson

Shorin-Ryu/Shinkoten Karate | 2010-Present: Yondan, Renshi | Sensei: Richard Poage (RIP), Jeff Allred (RIP)

Shuri-Ryu | 2006-2010: Sankyu | Sensei: Joey Johnston, Joe Walker (RIP)

Judo | 2007-2010: Gokyu | Sensei: Joe Walker (RIP), Ramon Rivera (RIP), Adrian Rivera