• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

I don't understand people.

The past few months a personal trainer started working out at our gym. He has some past boxing experience and has expressed that he would like some of his clients to participate in our mma/grappling classes. These clients of his are largely males aged 18-27. Due to the fact that our gym has about four people that regularly attend classes, we jumped at that chance to get some new blood into the mix. I was excited about the new students enthusiasm as well, everytime they would see me at the gym or at school(im a teacher) they would express their eagerness to train with us.

Classes began approximately three weeks ago, things started out fine, we basically worked on mobility drills and defense. After a few weeks of giving them more and more grappling tools, i brought up the idea of working Muay Thai next week. Keep in mind that i made sure to explain to them that there would be no contact, just working on stance, hand position things of that nature. Everyone seemed to be up for it. When the next week rolled around everyone had an excuse why they could not attend class. Thats fine, but two of the students stayed a lifted weights at the time that class would have been happening. We later heard from their trainer that they were not interested in striking, thats fine, i told them we would be back to grappling this week.

So this week rolls around one student was not there, two others were but said that they would rather lift weights than attend class. This brings me to my question. I am wondering whether or not it is my teaching methods, during class enthusiasm always seemed very high. Or is it simply that once they saw what martial arts at our gym is about they decided it was not for them.

I am just having a hard time understanding how a group of young men that are good athletes who expressed a interest in the subject could become so fickle so quickly.