• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

Grappling in Karate

Ueshirokarate

Hi all, I am brand new to the forum. I have been a student of karate for almost twenty years. Of that time, I only have approximately four years of formal in dojo training. However, I have trained much on my own with what I learned and have studied a few other martial arts including judo. I consider myself somewhat of a student of the art and have grown to appreciate it and my style more and more through the years.

I believe my study of judo unlocked many aspects of the katas I know and it lead me to do some further research. I am sure I am not the only one who knows about Tegumi and its connection with karate. Has this been discussed in here? I really believe that karate today is missing half its art.

Matsubayashi Ryu

CMMACC (Certified Mixed Martial Arts Conditioning Coach)

• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • Replies 22
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Hi all, I am brand new to the forum. I have been a student of karate for almost twenty years. Of that time, I only have approximately four years of formal in dojo training. However, I have trained much on my own with what I learned and have studied a few other martial arts including judo. I consider myself somewhat of a student of the art and have grown to appreciate it and my style more and more through the years.

I believe my study of judo unlocked many aspects of the katas I know and it lead me to do some further research. I am sure I am not the only one who knows about Tegumi and its connection with karate. Has this been discussed in here? I really believe that karate today is missing half its art.

Yes, as far as I know, Tegumi has been discussed here at KF in one forum or another.

:)

**Proof is on the floor!!!