• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

Student Committment

Slayer2004

HI everyone,

After having a discussion with a member of my club I thought I would see what everyone else thought.

We were discussing the fact that students now days are not as committed or dedicated to training as they were say 10 years ago. Especially those who train in a martial art as I am sure people can agree a lot of students will start leaving when they start to get higher in rank/grade when it starts to get difficult and they actually have to start putting more work in.

As an instructor I always explain to my students the importance of not giving up when things get difficult, and how they should overcome problems rather than to walk away from them and ignore them entirely but I know this can sometimes fall on deaf ears.

Something an adult student of mine then said it was down to how we are as a society in general now, where children and even some adults no longer feel they even need to work for anything anymore as they will get what they want regardless.

He used a common event to give me his idea. he talked about the new "Black Ops" game that has come out and just asked how many people I knew, students and adults that had got it the day it was released. So I explained i knew a lot of people who had the game and then realised that I knew a lot of my younger students that regularly tell me that they have just got a new video game etc.

He then pointed out that when we were children for anything that expensive we would normally have had to work hard for it to raise money for it or had to wait for Birthdays or Christmas and that our parents would have had to work hard for it. Either way we were never getting something for nothing. Whereas a lot of my younger students are just being bought these games alone just because they are available and not out of reward but more necessity.