• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

Internet video

Robbo

I am looking for a good explanation and guide to carry out a side kick correctly (sokuto). I am a beginner and my side kick looks like a round house for some reason.

my problems is, do i cock the knee and rotate 45 degree? ending side on to the opponent.

if a more senior rank had a decent video tutorial link that would really help me out. But there are so many out there i aint experienced enough to say which is a good technique.

Many thanks for your time.

my style is wado ryu

This is part of my grading and although i am throwing what i believe to be a side kick out i know its technically poor. :(

• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

Only a suggestion but you might want to practice doing it in reverse. Start with the kick out and bing it back to the starting position. Don't try for speed as that will come later. Just do it slowly and work on the technique first. I know a lot of students have problems with this kick. I even know some higher ranks that it still looks like a round house.

Jeffrey

OSU,

With a roundhouse, you point your knee at your opponent, and then kick. The way the hips turn will make it a roundhouse every time.

With a side kick, your knee is not pointed at your opponent, but in front of you. Think about aiming with your back pocket, because the way your hip turns when you throw that kick, your back pocket will be aiming at him.

I'm not sure if this helps, but hopefully?

http://kyokushinchick.blogspot.com/

"If you can fatally judo-chop a bull, you can sit however you want." -MasterPain, on why Mas Oyama had Kyokushin karateka sit in seiza with their clenched fists on their thighs.

PS, meh, not sure if it is the greatest, but-