• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

Annoyed by BJJ?

I am obviously a die hard BJJer. I find I often often get hyper defensive responses from many traditional martial artists. I have extensive knowledge in Brazilian Jiu Jitsu / Gracie Jiu Jitsu, Sambo, Wrestling and Judo. I only wish to be productive and helpful. So with that said what is it that erks you? I would like to hear some honest answers please.

• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • Replies 40
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Most of the older guys, well the guys that have been around for a while, get annoyed at how cocky the vocal people are. There are a lot of people out there, who just want to teach. Matt Serra for one, on here, you for another, but there are too many cocky university students who take BJJ in some university club, and think they can take on the world. That's the most vocal side, and unfortunately for every group, that's the side that gets the attention. I'm pretty sure that's where a lot of hostility comes from. I'm in no way saying that a lot of the cocky guys can't back it up, it would just help if they weren't so vocal about it.

I've also heard, from too many BJJ people, about the ills of taking a traditional Okinawan/Korean/Japanese martial art. I understand preaching about the ills of belt factory McDojos, but not all traditional places are like that. The good ones may be in the minority at this point, unfortunately, but not all are like that.

I honestly, am not sick of BJJ at all. I've considered taking it several times, it's just opportunity, money, and time. I am sick of the guys with BJJ white belts, who have been doing it for like 4 months, telling me they can take on anybody who has only trained in traditional martial arts.

He who knows others is wise. He who knows himself is enlightened.

- Tao Te Ching