• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

Kata done naturally...(boxing guard, etc.)

panamaican

As a shotokan student, I am alwyas loking for ways to improve my kata as it applies to self-defense and kumite. One of the methods I've found very enlightening is practicing kata in more natural fighting stances.

For example: Practicing Heian Shodan from with a boxing guard with a more upright stance. Convert the gedan barai into a shortened movement for slapping down an opponent punch followed by the gyaku tsuki as a straight cross. Age uke remains the same but comes from the boxing guard with a shorter movement and a slight body lean to the opposite side. The embusen remains the same. Hikite brings the hand back to the bxoing guard position.

I've found that practicing my katas in some of these more natural variations has improved both my fluidity and application. Has anyone else tried this?

• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

One thing I would caution you on is that not all of your kata is made up of strikes, kicks and blocks. They are many Bunkai applications that are hidden within each Kata. Some of the strikes and blocks can be used as grabs and throws. The opening moves of Heian Shodan can be used as a block grab and arm bar followed by a skrike. Practice the Kata as it is meant. With a boxing guard you lose the intention of the Kata's Bunkai's.

I agree that not all of the katas or even every part of a single kata can be practiced this way. But there are definitely sections in several katas that lend themselves to this form of practice. For instance, Heian Godan has very few sections that can be converted to this but there are more sections in Bassai Dai that can be experimented with than I would have thought.