• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

How are your gradings conducted?

RJCKarate

Are your gradings conducted similar to a normal lesson where the instructor walks around, or do they sit at a desk/panel and assess you in a much more formal manner?

This topic isn't about what you perform, or the requirements, just how the grading is conducted. Additionally, I know most blackbelt gradings are conducted using the panel method, but this is just for general, all-grade testings.

Cheers!

Reece Cummings

Kodokan Cummings Karate Dojo

5th Dan, Matsubayashiryu (Shorinryu) Karatedo Kobujutsu

1st Dan, Yamaneryu Kobudo

• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • Replies 22
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

When I studied Soo Bahk Do, a table was set up in the dojang for the examining judge. My teacher and her assistant instructor took care of what we had to be instructed to do, so the judge mostly did paperwork, except for questions about Soo Bahk Do that were asked of gup members. (Dan tests are held at the regional headquarters.)

At a certain point, when I went for 5th and 4th gup, my teacher had a table set up to do the evaluating herself. I saw that she had the same examination sheet that the examining judge had had. She didn't leave the table, but called out what we should do, and the assistant instructor helped her. The examining judge has three states to cover, and she has her own school. I feel that since she'd known my SBD teacher for years, and had conducted testing in the dojang before, there was trust that the test would be up to standards.

My children are special needs, and their promotions have been based on their teacher since the beginning. They were white belts with electrical tape stripes for the first year. The concentration has been on improvement, and once they reach 4th gup, I've been told that they're likely to stay there (green belt) for a full year.

~ Joe