• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

Help for a beginner to choose between kyokushin and wado-ryu

water93

Hi everyone,

I am a beginner who is looking to get into a new hobby and have come across karate. In particular there are two clubs that ive found that look good one is kyokushin-kai and one is wado-ryu.

Can anyone tell me the differences between them, i am having trouble finding info about both.

I am a 16 year old female who has been unwell for the past 3 years, so am probably looking more for a low contact karate as ive heard theyre all different.

Thanks for any help :)

Edited by water93

• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

Before I give my opinion, I will just say that I practice Matsubayashi-Ryu and only have minimal knowledge of both of these styles.

Firstly, Wado-Ryu (which is more similar to Matsu then Kyo). Wado-Ryu from the limited views I've had often can incorporate some forms more Jujutsu looking techniques in addition to 'standard' Karate. A main aspect of Wado-Ryu from observation is on tai sabaki (body management/evasion). As you mention contact may be an issue, I would recommend Wado-Ryu.

Secondly, and briefly Kyokushin was designed by Mas Oyama as a style of 'stand-up full contact' karate. It's focus is on physical stamina, robustness and toughness as well as 'realistic combat' whilst allowing full contact attacks to all areas excluding groin and punches to head.

Kyokushin will be heavier on the contact, Wado-ryu less so.

There are more qualified people to speak on these 2 styles, pre-apologies if I have made a misrepresentation of either style.

EDIT: If you go to Wikipedia.org I'm sure you can find some information on both of the styles.

Cheers,

Edited by RJCKarate

Reece Cummings

Kodokan Cummings Karate Dojo

5th Dan, Matsubayashiryu (Shorinryu) Karatedo Kobujutsu

1st Dan, Yamaneryu Kobudo