• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

Hook kick.

Dobie1979

I've been training for about six months now. We always start our classes with a few of the basics. We get to the kick portion and we start the hook kicks. What is this kick designed to do?

I've put some thought into it and wonder if it is good to use against someone with a knife/weapon.

I'm curious to hear other thoughts.

Thanks!

• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • Replies 27
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Not all that good against a knife or weapon, no. The standard hook kick is not all that useful except as training for a spinning hook kick, which makes a pretty good high-risk-high-reward kick or kick counter.

Edited by Toptomcat

Agreed. About the only time I really use a hook kick when sparring is in combination with a roundhouse. Do a hook kick with the expectation of not hitting the target but rather to draw their attention to blocking the kick, then re-extending the kick back into a roundhouse. I've also managed to use it to sneak in a few rib shots on occasion, but overall I really don't use a standard hook kick all that often.

Other than that, as Toptomcat said, it seems its primary usefulness is to prepare you for learning the spinning hook kick, which can be a great kick if you can pull it off successfully.

I've been training for about six months now. We always start our classes with a few of the basics. We get to the kick portion and we start the hook kicks. What is this kick designed to do?

I've put some thought into it and wonder if it is good to use against someone with a knife/weapon.

Can you be a little more specific.

By Hook Kick do you mean Mikazuki geri -

Chitsu

look at the moon, not my finger.