• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

I don't know what I am going to do...

Pajarito21

O.k. first a little back ground then I will post the question. I am a student in college and just started wado not to long ago. It has taken me about a year to get my blue belt. I really love the style and really want to get to black belt. Here is the problem... I am going to graduate in a year and will probably be moving due to the fact that my job will make me. There aren't to many dojo's in the states that I know of for Wado. Here is the question... What should I do when I go somewhere where there isn't Wado? I really don't want to start all over in a new style, is there a style that is close to Wado? Am I going to lose all my rank and have to wait forever for another chance to get to black belt?

• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

It all depends on the style and the school. When we have had students move from Shotokan into Wado they have generally started a belt or two lower to give them a chance to catch up as they have usually been out of karate for a year or two. Some schools do make you start back at a white belt, either because they have very strict grading principles, the two styles are very different (stances, kata, terminology etc.), to stop other students from having a crack at the new kid or just because the instructor wants the income from grading fees (not likely to happen in any reputable school).