• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

your thoughts...

Armani

Hello!

I've been training Karate for about 3 years now, but i would like to know your thoughts...

My sensei has a 3rd dan in Shotokan karate, but in the last 10 years he switched from Shotokan to Goju and vice versa... (About 3 times)

The last 3 years i've been training we only practice Goju-ryu but because my sensei is not really a Goju-Ryu sensei (He has no dan in Goju) we not seem to get further than the the first 4 kata's and about 15 bunkai's...

So i am asking you, do you think i an wasting my time here?

Also one more thing, in exams we all do the same so theres not really a diffrence wether you are a yellow belt or blue belt :-?

So please let me know what you think...

Regards from The Netherlands

• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

If you are enjoying yourself and learning something then you're not wasting your time. But I would have a hard time believing that you are learning anything of quality from someone so disjointed with their own training. A building is only good as it's foundation. You being the building your teacher being the foundation.

I agree with Sokusen. If I want to learn “something” technical, I want to be taught from someone who has mastered “it”. A jack-of-all trades type person is great for a handyman, not a MA instructor.

It seems to me like you need to evaluate what you want from martial arts training. If you want tradition, if you want technical correctness according to a certain defined style, if you want advancement in rank as recognized by an outside authority- then this teacher is not for you. Does he provide other things you want- a good workout, a practical fighting method, a good friend or father figure, a place to meet people and make friends? If so, then you may want to stay even if things aren't perfect.