• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

Well, I did it... but I paid a price.

Dr. Frank

I started training in 1973. Won my first trophy in competition in 1975. I won trophies in the 1980s, 1990s, 2000s, and I won one today in 2010. That makes five decades in which I have placed in open tournaments.

But I foolishly entered kumite and was matched with some hotshot 22 year old nidan who had absolutely no concept of control. He kicked me on the elbow and messed up my whole arm. I am hoping it's just muscle pull and strain and not something more serious. Right now I am in agony and can't lift my arm more than a few inches. I should have withdrawn when I learned there was no age division and us old guys had to fight the youngsters.

To add insult to injury, the head referee was his instructor and I got screwed on points. Watched the video my wife shot and I saw 3-4 punches I landed that should have been called but were not. My instructor was observing and he agreed that I wasn't getting points. The two corner refs would call my punch and the head ref would call no point. Supposed to be if two see it then it's a point. Didn't work that way, today.

• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

Wow. I can't believe they let him be the head judge when one of his students is competing. Isn't that like a conflict of interests or something? That shouldn't be allowed. Hearing stories of these tournaments is making me more and more glad that my school doesn't enter them very often.

In thirty-five years of active competition in point you haven't gotten used to filthy judging? :D From all I hear from the old guard at my dojo you see that kind of thing in maybe one in three tournaments.

Congratulations on your continued success, and good luck with your injury. It takes a lot of heart and skill to step into competition in your circumstances.

Edited by Toptomcat

Ouch, sorry to hear.