• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

Meibukan Goju-Ryu

newguy9208

I am new to karate and about to check out a school that teaches this style.

I'm in my forties and tired or going to a regular gym to lift weights treadmill etc.

I also looked at Bjj, judo,samo and don't really think they are for me.

Anyway, does anyone train in this style? I am not in that great of shape and the classes meet three times a week for three hours a class. This concerns me.

The teacher is in his seventies and I am sure teaches old school.

Any input as to the what this style is like and how I might prepare myself would be most greatful.

• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

They do not spar, at all- which means that while it may work well from a fitness perspective, it is unlikely to confer practical ability in self-defense. If that matches what you want to get out of your karate training, then go for it.

I actually trained in Meibukan Goju Ryu when I was in the Marine Corps under Wade Chroninger and later Ricky Kleinsmith, both great guys. Sensei Ikemiyagi Masaaki is a beast.

We typically did a lot of Sanchin and body conditioning to start, then would work some kata and either self defense or kumite drills at the end. We did spar but it was controlled, light contact stuff (albeit no protection) since we were lower ranked belts. The higher ups had some good sparring sessions at times.

As far as what you can do for it, Sanchin and body conditioning you really can't train for unless you do it. If it's anything like mine was, expect to be sore the first few weeks so stock up on a lot of tiger balm.

Hanshi Miraikian is fantastic from what I hear.

I trained for almost the entire year I was in Okinawa, then for about another year in California.

At the lower belt levels you do some self defense stuff but it's really at brown and above when you get into the good stuff.