• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

I'm New In Karate

Lukin

• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

Make sure that your reasons for studying martial arts fit the school you’re studying at. There’s a lot of variation in martial arts schools: some are best at teaching fighting skills, some at providing hobbyists with a fitness activity, some are best at teaching the mental and spiritual aspects of the art, some are best at making their students’ techniques look artistically sharp, crisp and appealing. If your school isn’t giving you what you want from martial arts, don’t throw the baby out with the bathwater and give it up for swimming or badminton: try another few schools in the area instead.

(Unfortunately what a school is good at isn’t necessarily what they say they’re good at- in particular, the spiritual, artistic, and fitness crowd will all say they’re good at fighting. :D)

Hi Lukin, it's good that you are a little nervous about starting Karate. A little nervousness during your experience will help keep you focused and concentrated. There's really nothing to Karate until you get to the higher belt levels. At first you will just be taught the basic blocks, punches, kicks, stances, etc. It's all pretty straight forward, but you will be surprised how fast you will progress once you get the basics down. You will also find that there will be a certain technique that doesn't feel comfortable to you, especially if you have studied other martial art styles in the past that have an entirely different curriculum system. Like for me, I find the round house kick in classic Goju Ryu karate incredibly hard to adjust to. It's not like your every day Taekwondo round house. It requires much more leg strength and technique. Always make sure to ask your sensei questions if you have any, and tell him where you struggle the most so that he can provide extra help in that particular area.

Good luck!