• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

Classical Goju Ryu Round House Kick

AyaShindou

Hi guys. First post. My name is Aya Shindou. Three weeks ago I started taking Goju Ryu Karate lessons at a local club in my town. It's very different from what I am use to. Before starting Karate, I studied/practiced Kajukenpo Chuan Fa (Kung Fu) and Taekwondo. What's different about Goju Ryu is that it's a classical system of Martial Arts. Kajukenpo was self defense oriented, while Taekwondo was sports oriented. In Goju Ryu the techniques, (punches, kicks preferably) have to be done in a specific way. Every technique has to be perfect in stance, structure, etc. One kick that I'm having trouble with is the round house kick. It's not like a Taekwondo round house kick, or a Kung Fu round house kick where you have to put a lot of hip into it. In Goju Ryu, there are four steps to the kick, and it takes a lot of leg strength to get it high enough. What are some good leg conditioning methods that may help me build leg strength faster. I want to master this kick. Even though it's not very practical in a real fighting situation, it's still a technique that takes a lot of time to master. Any advice would be appreciated. Thank you!

• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

Thinking of the Goju people I've trained with, and looking at the limited video I can find on short notice of Goju roundhouses, I can't think of anything that makes the Goju roundhouse more 'specific' or four-step than a roundhouse of another style. (In my experience, if anything, Goju puts rather more hip into the kick than is typical.) This is probably a school difference rather than a style difference. Could you further describe what makes your school's roundhouse technically distinct, so we can help you with it?

Well, it's all suppose to be done in one swift step, but by breaking it down, five steps are required.