• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • Replies 34
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Hello,

As far as understand it, Mr. Shintani's Wadokai is a kinda "fringe" group that is not recognised by any of the main international Wado bodies (JKF Wado-kai, WIKF and Wado Ryu Renmei).

Their Katas are markedly different from any of the aforementioned groups and suggested by most to be in direct conflict with many of the fundamental Wado principles.

That said, the late Mr Shintani may well have been an excellent karate-ka (as well as his students), but it doesn't look like any kind of wado that I have seen.

Chitsu

look at the moon, not my finger.

Hello all,

I’m a Wado Kai Student Yon Kyu (4th Kyu) having just got that green belt 1 month ago.

I find that both are very much the same with the emphasis on taisabaki. The kata’s almost mirror each other. In Wado Kai there is a difference in Pinan Shodan and Nidan. It seems these are reversed. In Wado Kai you learn Nidan from Wado Ryu first which is Shodan in Wado Kai. I’m not an expert but I used the video from the Wado Ryu kata’s to help practice as they are the same. But I could be wrong being a newbie.

Jeffrey

Hello all,

I’m a Wado Kai Student Yon Kyu (4th Kyu) having just got that green belt 1 month ago.

I find that both are very much the same with the emphasis on taisabaki. The kata’s almost mirror each other. In Wado Kai there is a difference in Pinan Shodan and Nidan. It seems these are reversed. In Wado Kai you learn Nidan from Wado Ryu first which is Shodan in Wado Kai. I’m not an expert but I used the video from the Wado Ryu kata’s to help practice as they are the same. But I could be wrong being a newbie.

Jeffrey

Hello,